Life Member

Spiritual Care Australia has adopted the practice of bestowing life membership to recognise outstanding service to chaplaincy, pastoral and spiritual care in general, or to Spiritual Care Australia.
Life Membership is bestowed upon chosen individuals whose service to best practice spiritual care has been extensive across a substantial period of time.


Life Members will be natural persons:

(a)  who have been a Member of the Company for a minimum of 5 years;
(b)  have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to chaplaincy, pastoral and spiritual care and the national interests of Spiritual Care Australia;
(c)  who are invited by the Board or any general meeting of the Company to become a Life Member; and
(d)  who agree in writing to become Life Members.

Current Life Members of Spiritual Care Australia are:

Lindsay Carey
Eric Cave
Cheryl Holmes
Kevin Lyon
Sue Retschko
Gerald Quinn
Walter Stratford
Carl Aiken
Linda McWilliam
Carmel Fader
Marie Britza
Stephen Delbridge

Life members conferred by the Australian Health and Welfare Chaplains Association are:

Les Batchelor
Philip Blake
Christine Broadbere
Ron Davoren
Michael Dewsbury
Graeme Gibbons
Les Goode
Margaret Hill
Lloyd John
Julie O’Brien
Rosemary Pernott-Russell
Margaret Polkinghorne
David Stark
Mary Trainor